Dreaming about fishing

November 20, 2008

A few weeks ago I had a semi-epiphany. It came to me in the early hours of the morning. It was something I saw in a dream. In this dream I was standing next to Jesus. He was looking out from high up on the shore towards the disciples who were fishing on a boat just off the shore. In my dream Jesus calls out to the disciples (in the same way as in John 21) to cast their nets on the other side…..

I woke up at this point and knew what this was saying.

It is a wonderful metaphor of our spiritual life. How often we find ourselves fishing on the wrong side of the boat.

5 Responses to “Dreaming about fishing”


  1. […] Tags: atheist, Christianity, jesus, love, nietzsche, Religion, zarathustra I just read a post on a friend’s blog that made me step back and wonder.  The post was a short recounting of a dream.  My friend […]

  2. Andrew Says:

    Hey man, I hope you don’t mind. Your post here really opened my eyes. I wrote a bit of a response. Great insight in this post.

  3. Andrew Says:

    Andrew,
    I’m glad that this spoke to you.
    Be blessed
    A

  4. nic paton Says:

    Do you have to be called andrew to be in the market for an epiphany?


  5. Nic,
    You can join the faculty. Can we call you Andrew to save the confusion?
    Andrew


Leave a Reply

