Youth Mourning – a painting by George Clausen

April 30, 2009

 

As I reflect on the process of mourning, I am for a moment, stepping aside from the deconstructionist philosophy of Jacque Derrida and Post Modernism and  looking purely at the emotional and expressive reality of the event.

While viewing various works by other artists, I was deeply moved by the sorrow expressed in this painting.

 

youth-mourning

 

 The following description is taken from the Imperial War Museum, London, where the painting is on display:

“Sir George Clausen was an established Royal Academician when he painted Youth Mourning in 1916 at the age of 64.  It represents his personal reaction to the loss of a generation of young British soldiers during the conflict, and particularly to the death of his daughter Katharine’s fiance.

Youth, represented as a vulnerable young woman, mourns the death of her love, and by extension, the deaths of all young soldiers.  In the distance are the flooded battlefield craters.  This allegorical work combines traditional classicism and Christian symbolism with the stark landscape of the Western Front.”

5 Responses to “Youth Mourning – a painting by George Clausen”


  1. Andrew,

    I hope your neck is feeling better. I’m excited about your new triptych!

    Thank you for posting this painting. It really speaks to me. I’ve been mourning the loss of my garden, friends and community since we moved across country in August. Now it is spring here and my former garden wakes without me and my friends open their windows and shed their coats, venturing forth into the world and I am not there…


  2. This is a very moving post. I found your blog via a link from Sybil and like your writing. I am doing a little outreach to find some new blogs to read and will add you to my blogroll.


  3. http://www.miagenesis.com with thanks about your submit. quite gud.

  4. bBillyjoeBlacklei Says:

    After examine a number of of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I actually like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will probably be checking back soon. Pls check out my website as properly and let me know what you think.

  5. dBillyjoePromoakfu Says:

    You’r text helped me a lot, god bless you for that, I’m going to save it, bookmarking your story right now!


Leave a Reply

